AATA online
Publisher: Los Angeles, Calif. : J. Paul Getty Trust.
Offers abstracts from journal articles, books, conference proceedings dissertations and other resources related to the preservation and conservation of materials. Covers 1932-present.
ABI/INFORM global
Provides international resources on business, economics, finance, human resources, management and other business-related fields. Includes Hoover Company Information and many resources in full-text. Coverage varies, 1905-present.
ABSEES
Provider: EBSCO
Offers a bibliography of American titles in Slavic and Eastern European Studies. Currently covers 1990-present.
Abstracts in anthropology
Holdings:
(Bryn Mawr College) Available from 2005-present.
(Swarthmore College) Available from 2005-present.
Publisher: [Westport, Conn.] : Greenwood Press [etc.]
Quarterly. References to journal articles, miscellaneous papers, and books, arranged under sections on archaeology, ethnology, linguistics, and physical anthropology. Cross references. Cross index.
Access world news
Provider: NewsBank
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions of record for more than 700 newspapers around the globe, including the NY Times (2000-present). Database covers 1977-present.
Accessible archives
Contains full-text primary resource materials in American history including newspapers, magazines, and genealogical records originally only offered on microfilm. Covers 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
AccessUN
Provider: Readex
Provides abstracts and full-text to most United Nations publications including journal articles, official records and documents from sessional/standing committees, functional commissions, conferences and regional bodies. Resolutions from the General Assembly, Security Council and Economic and Social Council are in full-text. Indexes 1945-present. Full-text coverage from 1974-present.
AccuNet/AP multimedia archive
Contains the current year's photo report from the Associated Press and images from its negative and print library. Most images in the archive are contemporary. Photos are added daily. Coverage varies, 1840-present.
ACM Digital Library
Provides access to the Association of Computing Machinery's journals and other resources including conference proceedings, newsletters and transactions. Includes computer science and related disciplines. Covers 1969-present.
ACS publications
Provider: ACS
Provides links to journals and magazines published by the American Chemical Society. The Tri-Colleges may access the full-text of the latest 7 years of most of these titles.
Africa-wide
Provider: NISC
Offers access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa including books, journal articles, maps and music recordings. Some materials are in full-text. Covers 19th century-present.
African American newspapers
Contains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s, and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including presidential and congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. They also contain large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
African studies abstracts online
Holdings:
(Bryn Mawr College) Available from 2003-present.
(Haverford College) Available from 2003-present.
(Swarthmore College) Available from 2003-present.
Publisher: Leiden [The Netherlands] : African Studies Centre,
America's historical newspapers
Provider: Readex
Ser.I, 1690-1876. This collection provides images and full-text content access to historic newspapers listed in Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, and in additional subsequent bibliographies. -- Ser.II, 1758-1900. This collection focuses on the 18th- and 19th-century newspapers. -- Ser. III, 1829-1922. This collection focuses on the 19th- and 20th-century newspapers including Civil War, Reconstruction, the Progressive Era and beyond.
America, history and life
Provider: EBSCO
Provides abstracts of journals, reviews and dissertations on United States and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers 1954-present.
American broadsides and ephemera. Series I
"Based on the American Antiquarian Society's landmark collection ... American Broadsides and Ephemera offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The remarkably diverse subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations."--Help screen.
American state papers, 1789-1838
Provider: Readex
Provides access to U.S. congressional materials from 1789 through 1838, including 1st Congress, 1st Session through 25th Congress, 2nd Session.
Ancestry.com
Provides access to over 740 databases that yield census, church and immigration records, historical maps, the Social Security death index and much more. Results are often presented as digital images. Records usually originate from civil and institutional records but some family history accounts are anecdotal and may be best used for an overview before continuing to locate factual information.
Annual review of anthropology
Holdings:
(Bryn Mawr College) Available from 1972-present.
(Haverford College) Available from 1972-present.
(Swarthmore College) Available from 1972-present.
Publisher: Palo Alto, Calif. : Annual Reviews Inc.,
AP images
Electronic library containing the Associated Press's current photos and a selection of pictures from their 50 million image print and negative library.
Applied social sciences index and abstracts
Provider: CSA
Coverage includes all branches of the applied social sciences dating back to 1987.
ArchiveGrid
Provides access to "nearly a million collection descriptions" from "thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact [information from] archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies."
ArchivesUSA
Provides descriptions of manuscripts, archive collections and other primary resource materials. This resource also serves as a directory of primary resource repositories located in the United States. Coverage varies.
Art index
Provider: Wilson
Offers abstracts of journals, museum bulletins and yearbooks in the fields of art, architecture, decorative arts and photography. Covers abstracts from 1929-present, full-text articles 1997-present.
ARTbibliographies modern
Holdings:
Database Coverage: 1974-
Publisher: Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts,
Provider: CSA
Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all areas of modern and contemporary art including photography, sculpture and art history and theory. Covers late 1960's-present.
Arts & humanities citation index
Provider: FirstSearch
Citations to more than 1,300 arts and humanities journals and to relevant articles on arts and humanities in over 5,800 social science and science journals. Records include articles, bibliographies, editorials and reviews. Covers 1980-present.
Arts & humanities citation index
Provider: ISI
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities with selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Covers 1975- present.
Asia-studies full-text
Provider: IIS
Contains over 8,000 full-text reports on finance, trade, environment, human resources development, best practices in government, fisheries, tourism, education, women's studies, etc. for 53 countries. Updated weekly.
ATLA religion database + ATLAS
Provider: SilverPlatter
Provides online access to the entire core collection of more than fifty significant scholarly journals in the field of religion. Also provides citation information for journal articles, book reviews and essays for over 600 journals in the fields of religion and theology. Covers 1949-present.
Avery index to architectural periodicals
Provider: CSA
Provides citations to journals in the fields of architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and archaeology. Covers 1930-present.
Avery index to architectural periodicals
Provider: RLG
Provides citations to journals in the fields of architecture, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and archaeology. Covers 1930-present.